Stockholm Nutter is derived from the base term “Nutter” (short for Pit Nutter) and is part of several combined terms, such as Super Nutter, Nikko-Nutter, pre-Nutter and post-Nutter. A Stockholm Nutter is exactly what it suggests: A pit bull owner who has been at the receiving end of the death and destruction these dogs inflict, but still has empathy, sympathy and positive feelings for the breed. Wikipedia describes Stockholm syndrome as a form of “traumatic bonding” that does not necessarily require a hostage scenario.

Meet Patricia (Trisha) Williams of Waukesha. In June 2011, Williams, then 52-years old, was brutally attacked by one of her two pet pit bulls, named Prince. The dog nearly killed her. Williams was airlifted to a trauma level hospital where she spent over two months recovering from her injuries. The pit bull took out her whole knee among other atrocities.  In March 2013, she told media members that she still wished Prince was still alive — police shot and killed the animal when they arrived on scene. Williams kept Prince’s mother.

“I was playing ball with him, chasing him around the backyard. I brought him in to put him in the kennel and he didn’t want to go in. He turned around and was attacking me — I think he blacked out (classic Stockholm excuse!) … I miss him. I never thought [Prince] was bad. I don’t blame anybody for it, it’s just something that happened.” – Trisha Williams

Trisha Williams

More Stockholm Nutters

“Moss spent Tuesday afternoon in the hospital, getting stitches, but Wednesday she’s right back at the shelter, saying she just can’t stay away and she’s missing Rex [the pit bull that attacked her], a dog she spent a lot of time with. ‘I don’t blame the [pit bull] one bit, if he was still here today, I would love him. I tended to that dog for 9 days and he was part of me,’ Moss said.”  – Smith County, Texas Shelter Director Nanette Moss
“Mending at home a week after being badly bitten by a pit bull she was fostering in her home, the town’s assistant animal control officer remains distraught over signing the order to put the animal to death. ‘I loved that dog,’ Shea Cavacini said. ‘I’m going to blame myself forever.’ … ‘If they hadn’t applied the tourniquets, I might not have my arm.’ … ‘This is not a breed-specific thing,’ Cavacini said.” – Shea Cavacini, Griswold, Connecticut assistant animal control officer

