After the catastrophic pit bull mauling of Linda Henry, 54, of Westwego, Louisiana, her boyfriend Clarence Allen said, “I don’t know why they did it … They never had a fight. I don’t understand it.” Three of the couple’s four adult pit bulls ambushed Henry after she walked into her home. The woman lost an eye, ear and both arms to amputation in the horrific assault. The pit bulls also ripped off the entire back portion of her scalp. The response by pit bull owners, “I don’t understand it” is complete denial of well documented pit bull attack traits revealed over and over again in serious and fatal pit bull maulings.

The toddler killed by a family dog in Orange County has been named … Mike Hicks, the victim’s cousin, told reporters, “Friendly dog, I mean, I don’t understand it. Just don’t understand it. Words can’t describe how it happened,” Hicks said. – DogsBite.org
“My dogs mind me when I tell them to go in the yard and lay down, they do. When I say go on the porch and lay down, they do. I don’t understand why this happened” – Donny Hays
I don’t understand what happened. It was almost like he was cursed or something, like somebody had him under a curse.” – Derek Malcom
I just don’t understand it. He is such a sweet dog, just a big ol’ puppy. I leave him alone with my kids all the time. The 4 year old must have provoked him.” (sarcasm) – Glock23
Every single solitary pitbull owner whose dog has mauled someone has said the exact same thing as you; they are wonderful, I’ve never had a problem, I just don’t understand it, this is the first time, etc. – Anonymous
All pit bulls are as sweet as pie and every time they bite or kill someone, the fool owner says “I don’t understand it. My dog has never bitten anyone before. The child must have been doing something to provoke him because he’s always been as sweet as pie.” – Hank
Maybe he is… but it’s amazing how often, following a vicious pit pull attack, the responsible party says, “I don’t understand it… he’s a nice dog.” –bikeboy
Most pit bull owners whose dogs attack another animal or human with no apparent reason are wont to say that they don’t understand it because their dog was the gentlest, most loving dog one could imagine. – Barbara Kay
And to add to 26’s posting, how many times have you read in pit bull attack stories that an owner says, “I don’t understand it. He’s always been such a sweet dog”? – LAB
The remarks frequently heard after such an attack “I don’t understand it….he’s always been nice to everyone…..he plays with all the neighborhood children….he’s not an attack dog…..he’s never been abused….” certainly bear that out. It is mind boggling how many here will make all kinds of nonsensical excuses for pitbulls – AA#5

