This phrase is often used by pit bull owners to be seen as an authority when interviewed in news articles or commenting in a mauling thread. 95% of the time, the person is not a “vet tech” (with 2-3 years of accredited training) nor has any training outside of being a pit bull owner. Maul Talkers often take this perceived expert claim further by claiming to be a vet tech for “30 years.” When his or her MySpace or Facebook page is found, however, the person’s age is listed as 25 or younger. Any person who claims to be a “vet tech” when talking about the pit bull issue should quickly be dismissed as a fraud.

I work with all types of dogs as I am certified veterinary technician. When I was in Aurora I worked with quite a few “Pit-bulls” and never came across one that I was scared of until my last day of 2 years at that clinic. I was attacked by several chows, a few labs and one extremely mean Golden (not even mentioning all the chihuahuas, min-pins, shit-zus and countless other small dog breed). – CVT

As a vet tech for 8 years I have had a lot of experience handling dogs who I am unfamiliar with and who are unfamiliar with me. I have had to restrain and perform painful and frightening procedures on all shapes and sizes. When I began in this business I had no experience with pit bulls at all. In the past eight years MANY of the breeds I used to admire have shown me their true and ugly natures and I am no longer a fan. On the flipside I have come to respect and adore the pit bull based on my experiences with them. – Vet Tech

