To understand the experience of owning an outlaw dog breed, Tufts Center for Animals and Public Policy did a study on pit bull owners (Managing the Stigma of Outlaw Breeds: A Case Study of Pit Bull Owners). The “sympathetic” researchers found that owners of dangerous dog breeds directly feel the stigma targeted at their breed and resort to various tactics to lessen it. One of the tactics included counterbalancing the pit bull’s “killer” reputation with overwhelming “affection,” such as: “My dog might lick you to death.”

I’ve found little dogs are more snappy… My Shih Tzu would bite you a lot quicker than any of the other dogs, and my bully will lick you to death, or knock you over leaning on you for a scratch…. – Mollie’s Nana
ALL ANIMALS ARE UNPREDICTABLE. IVE OWNED A PITBULL FOR 7 YRS NOW AND THE ONLY THING HE AS EVER DONE IS LICK MY 4 GIRLS TO DEATH AND KNOCK THEM OVER PLAYING. – Nothing2little
So nice to hear there are people who believe that a pitbulls are a special breed and not all vicious and need to be destroyed. I love my pit as if he were my child. I know he will protect me if needed but also realize that he would probably lick to death anyone that got close enough – lizalu
Our pit bull is named “Sweetie” and it fits her perfectly. She has never met a person she didn’t like and try to lick to death. Her wagging tail is the most dangerous part of her – MyTMMO
I have a Red Nosed Pit Bull … my dog has only ever lunged at one person that came at me aggressively, I was startled and she was ready to kill them. Everyone else she may/ has tried to lick to death, but that is all. – Arkguy84

